On Money and Motivation

We welcome Liz Proctor, freelance fundraiser as a new recruit to our blogging team and hope you enjoy her first post.

When I tell people I’m a fundraiser I generally get one of two responses:

1. They look slightly worried and begin to back away slowly as though I might suddenly ask them for money.  (I don’t.  Most of my work involves fundraising through grants, not from individuals.)

2. They look rather more worried and say, “Oh, I couldn’t do that!” (I think they have visions of me standing on street corners rattling a tin all day.  I don’t usually do that either.)

Add to that the fact that I generally work from my office at home and may not see anyone except my family for days on end, and people begin to look downright horrified and cry, “But where do you find the motivation to do any work?”

I’ve worked as a fundraiser in the conservation world for over 12 years and believe me, motivation is never a problem.  I love to write, and there is a lot of that involved in the kinds of fundraising I do.  But more than that, when I see what organisations like The Grasslands Trust can achieve with the money I’m able to bring in, it’s nothing short of inspiring.

Ancient meadows, protected forever.  Neglected habitats restored and brought back to life. Children and families inspired to get involved in their local grasslands.  (My own involvement in conservation stems from a similar experience at the age of eight, but that’s a blog for another day.)  These things are vital – and money must be found somehow to pay for them all.  I see it as a privilege to be involved in that.

I can honestly say that finding motivation to work hard at fundraising for The Grasslands Trust is not a problem.  The problem is making myself stop occasionally!

About grasslandstrust

The Grasslands Trust is the only national UK charity that focuses entirely on saving grasslands that are valuable because they are rich in wildlife, history, or for other reasons.
This entry was posted in biodiversity, Community involvement, Ecosystem services, Heritage Lottery Fund, publicity, Uncategorized, volunteers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

